Proposition for an official Docker Compose Guide

As I wrote a week ago in this post, I found the lack of official documentation for Docker compose rather annoying, and I met a lot of problems trying to setup a compose stack for my api. So I wanted to try to write a guide which, if approved, could be added to the official doc. Feedback needed. keep in mind that I am not experienced with Docker, so I could have wrote inexact stuff.

Create a Docker compose stack for your Phoenix app

What we’ll need

We are continuing from the “Deploying with Releases” guide, and by having used the --docker flag in mix phx.gen.release

Goal

The goal is to integrate our dockerised phoenix app in a Compose stack containing the app and the database.

The compose file

We will start by adding a file “docker-compose.yml” at the root of the project. The file should contain the following :

services:
    db:
        image: postgres
        restart: always
        container_name: database
        volumes:
            - pg-data:/var/lib/postgresql/data
        environment: # Used by the postgres image to setup a default user. For security reason, you should avoid using the postgres user
            POSTGRES_USER: pg_user
            POSTGRES_PASSWORD: pg_pass
            POSTGRES_DB: hello_database

app:
        container_name: hello-app
        restart: always
        build:
            context: .
            dockerfile: Dockerfile
        depends_on:
            - db
        ports: # Docker need to expose ports for you to access your app.
            - 4000:4000
        environment:
            DATABASE_URL: "ecto://pg_user:pg_pass@db/hello_database" # Template : "ecto://db_user:db_password@ip_or_compose_service_name/db_name"
            SECRET_KEY_BASE: really_long_secret # Can literally be anything, but generally generated randomly by tools like mix phx.gen.secret

volumes:
    pg-data:
        external: true # Must use "docker volume create --name=pg-data before