[pseudo-rant] My Thoughts on Elixir Deployment

TL;DR

I would really like some sort of officially-supported, up-to-date DevOps guide + tooling for deploying Elixir projects, something to fill in the spectrum between “fully custom process” and “do everything for me.” Something that would allow me to grow my DevOps skills with my application development skills. It should be built off the native Mix release features shipped in the past year, because I’d like to support the official tooling. I think improving the story around deployment this way would really help grow the community.

If this already exists somewhere, please tell me I’m wrong and let me know.

Disclaimer

DevOps is hard. I’m no expert. I’ve only been poking around at available options for the last couple months while building my projects. “Poking around” includes reading various blog and forum posts, plus trying out some of the examples.

This pseudo-rant may be inaccurate, since I’m new to all this stuff, so I may be missing things. Please forgive my ignorance and correct me if that’s the case.

The Elixir DevOps Coin

I see DevOps on Elixir as a coin. On one side, you have the fully-customized pipelines that people build. These provide total freedom of choice. It’s Easy to Change. Don’t like AWS’s pricing? Fine, try DigitalOcean, Linode, etc. The price for this freedom is learning how to do DevOps on Elixir. I see this as a worthwhile pursuit, if only I could find the time to study it while building my application’s features against deadlines (I’m the sole developer on my projects).