Python or Ruby as an additional language

This may be a long winded question, so please bear with me. I am asking this here, as this community is very friendly and from what I have seen very diverse.

I have been a Java developer working with Spring Web applications for the past few years (Before that Android). I fell in love with Elixir and started using it on the side. I decided knowing a scripting language may be useful so I checked out Python and Ruby. I preferred Python as I felt its paradigm was closer to C++ (Which I used prior to Java and love), and felt Ruby did not add anything that attracted me.

Anyway, despite my preference, I am constantly seeing opportunities for Elixir at places that previously used Ruby or still use Ruby/Rails and although I have used Rails, I find working with three languages the most my little mind can stretch, realistically. So, my question is therefore two fold - Do you think that we will see more python or java or php etc shops starting to adopt Elixir in the future or will Elixir be adopted primarily by Ruby shops for the forseable future? And also, given that my goal is to find work with Elixir - would Ruby be a necessity in getting employment, or python would have just the same effect?

I know people will say learn both/Drop Java - but I love Java, and also I like to keep my foot in the door of the enterprise world and Java allows me to do this :wink:
Thanks!

P.S. Notice I did not say if ruby is better than python etc, so please no language wars! :slight_smile:

I wouldn’t suggest either Ruby or Python. I would go with a lower level language like C, Go, or Rust (my preferred).

1 Like

Rust is the most interesting I agree, however, I think by the time rust is commonly used - especially in any web specific capacity- Elixir will already have been adopted :slight_smile: Go just rubs me the wrong way for some reason