Questions about Streams

Hi everyone, hope y’all doing well, I am quite new to elixir and functional programming in general and I never really used Streams in another laguange before, so I have some questions about Streams.

file = File.stream!("elixir_is_funny.txt")
file |> Enum.map(&foo/1) |> Enum.map(&foo/2) |> Enum.map(&/foo3) |> Enum.take(1)

• each Enum.map will it execute just one time? If yes, how? how does it knows that i will take only one?

• I’ve read that in order to Enum works, you have to implement a iterable in the module, how that works with streams?

• I’ve made some tests, and in some cases it stops being a stream, how can i work with streams without transforming it?

• I’ve heard about the term lazy load, what does that mean? is Streams lazy loaded?

Well thats it, sorry for my english, it is not my first language :smiley:

2 Likes

Before you can truely understand streams in elixir you need to understand enumerables.

Enumerable is a protocol for collections of data, which can be iterated over using reduce at its core. An enumerable can be e.g. a list, which already exists completely in memory ready to be iterated over. It can however also be “lazy” in that the actual values the collection exists of are only computed or pulled into memory once the enumerable is iterated / reduced over.

A simple case for a lazy enumerable in elixir is Range. It models a sequence of interger values, but the struct only stores the lower and upper boundary of the sequence. 2..15 only stores a struct containing 2 and 15. Only once you start iterating over the range the values between those two numbers are computed – so 3, 4, 5, ….

So that’s Enumerable. Now there’s also Enum and Stream.