"Realtime" GenStage design?

Hi,

I’m new to elixir - have read Elixir in Action and the Designing Systems with OTP books.
Looking to use the BEAM and all it’s goodness for a project which isn’t a server with a request/response format (which is what the books talk most about, understandably).

I have some sensors (ARTag detector, rain sensor, weather sensor, pocketlab, w/e it doesn’t matter) that generate data, and I want to build an “environment” that allows those sensor inputs to be combined and sent to an output. Each detector spits out information per frame, at around 15FPS or so.
I also have some outputs - for now, a screen and a speaker (although i also want to add some kind of persistence like a database or filesystem).

One of these detectors is linked as a “program detector” whose job it is to identify which program ids should be running in the space. So every frame, one UDP port gets packets with info about which programs are “active”. Maybe it looks like: [[id, x-position, y-position], [id, x-position, y-position]...] if the program sensor is an ARTag detector.

Now I want to dynamically start the programs I see and run them for as long as I see them (in other words if I don’t see the program for 3-5 frames I will quit it, if it comes back i will restart it).

Each program will take in the sensor input and spit out some data to send to an output process.

This feels like a dynamic version of the producer/consumer model that GenStage allows for, with a couple differences: