Recursive concatenation

Hi,
I’m a beginner, and I’m trying to solve a rather simple question but I’m kinda stuck. I’m trying to write a fully-recursive function that appends a list to the other one, and I’m also not allowed to use any pre-written functions (like Enum.concat or ++ ). I’m honestly not even sure where I would start. I imagine there would be some pattern matching involved and maybe a base case with just one element in each list but I’m not sure. Can somebody help me with this please?

2 Likes

Hi @greenapple, welcome!

Just to make sure I understand what you’re going for, you’re trying to achieve basically:

concat([1,2], [2,4]) #=> [1,2,3,4]
2 Likes

Hi,
Thank you for replying. So for example concat ([1, 2, 3] , [4, 5, 6]) would return [1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6]

yes that is correct

Great!

So let’s start with something very basic: How would you do this simpler function:

prepend(1, [2,3]) #=> [1,2,3]
3 Likes

I would use something like

[1 | [2, 3]]

2 Likes

Right perfect. And if you wanted to do a concat on a list that just took one item, you could do:

def concat([item], list) do
  [item | list]
end

concat([1], [2,3] #=> [1,2,3]

The trick then is to just apply this logic recursively. When doing recursive logic, it’s always a good idea to identify the “base case” which you can think of as “when do I stop recursing?”. In the case of this kind of concat function, you stop recursing when you have just 1 item in the list, because at that point you do a simple prepend.

When you have more than one item, you need to recursively prepend until you hit the base case:

def concat([], list), do: list

def concat([item], list) do
  [item | list]
end

def concat([item | rest], list) do
  [item | concat(rest, list)]
end