Regex, Named captures. Where did I go wrong?

I’m scraping articles and different news sites have different DateTime formats. It is a mess.
So I wrote a date parser module to handle the situation. I’m not really good with regex but I managed to write something useful: https://regexr.com/47ne9

The problem is that I’m not able to use this pattern in my code.

This function is using named_capture.

Scraper.Parser.Date.parse_date("2019. 01. 11.")
%{"day" => "", "month" => "", "time" => "", "year" => "2019"}

This is the default generated pattern:

~r/(?<time>([\d]{1,2}):[\d]{2})|(?<year>([\d]{4}))|(?<month>([0-1][0-2]|jan|január|feb|február|már|március|ápr|április|már|március|jún|június|júl|július|aug|augusztus|szep|szeptember|okt|október|nov|november|dec|december))|(?<day>([0-3][0-9]))/

I’ve tried it with Regex.scan and my result was this:
["2019", "", "", "2019", "2019"]

I’ve tried to run it in Javascript and it seemed to work fine:

"2019. 01. 11.".match(/(([\d]{1,2}):[\d]{2})|([\d]{4})|([0-1][0-2]|jan)|([0-3][0-9])/g)

[ '2019', '01', '11' ]

My guess is that I miss the global option or something like that but as I read the documentation I can’t give it as an option in Elixir.
I would really like to use named_capture here but at least get a result like with that simple Javascript code.

Note: the DateTime format I use in this example is just a simple example. So I’m not looking for a solution parsing that specific one. You can see all the DateTime formats in the linked gist.

First of all I’d recommend using http://elixre.lpil.uk/ as a site to test the regex, it shows you what matches and what doesn’t. :slight_smile: