Rendering info from controller in template file

Hey all, sorry if this is a dumb question but I am new to elixir and unsure of how to do something pretty simple. I have this function in my page_controller.ex file that returns a user’s name:

def get_user_name(conn) do
    first_name = Pow.Plug.current_user(conn).first_name
    last_name = Pow.Plug.current_user(conn).last_name
    user_full_name = first_name <> last_name
    IO.inspect(user_full_name, label: "user_full_name")
    render(conn, user_full_name: user_full_name)
  end

And I am trying to render that user’s name in my app.html.leex file. How can I get that value in my template file? I’m not sure if I can import other files into template files, so this doesn’t work:

<span><%= get_user_name(@conn) %></span>

because get_user_name is undefined in the template file…not sure how you go about doing this…

Thanks so much for any help!!

In your html you can call any of the assigns you passed using @assign like such:

<%= @user_full_name %>
1 Like

thanks for the help!! when I do that though, I get this error: assign @user_full_name not available in eex template. Am I not setting the assign properly?

Try using render/3 and passing the template name, like:

render(conn, "index.html", user_full_name: user_full_name)

assuming the HTML template is called index.html.eex

1 Like

The name of the template file is app.html.leex, but when I try

render(conn, "app.html", user_full_name: user_full_name)

it still gives me the same error: assign @user_full_name not available in eex template.

Is it in the folder lib/app_name_web/templates/page? I think you might have the HTML in the wrong place.

1 Like

ah, that’s true, I have it in the folder lib/app_name_web/templates/layout. Thank you so much!!!

You don’t need to move the file, just copy and paste your code from layout/app.html.eex to page/index.html.eex. The former is specifically for the layout.

1 Like