Resetting Mox mock after a single test

I’m new to elixir and am seeing confusing/undesirable behavior when using Mox.

I just want to use a mock for a single test module. Let’s say I have 2 tests. Here is sample code:

defmodule MyTest do
  setup_all do
    defmock(DateTimeMock, for: DateTimeApi)

:ok
  end

test "test1" do
    {:ok, expected_datetime, _} = DateTime.from_iso8601("2019-09-08T00:00:00.000000Z")
    expect(DateTimeMock, :utc_now, fn _ -> expected_datetime end)
  end

test "test2" do
    expect(something else)
  end
end 

defmodule MyTest2 do
  setup_all do
    defmock(DateTimeMock, for: DateTimeApi)

:ok
  end

test "test1" do
  end

test "test2" do
  end
end  

When MyTest2 runs I will see the error: (Mox.UnexpectedCallError) no expectation defined

Defining a mock for a single test ‘leaks’ out and affects all tests.

Does Mox have a way to revert the mocked module back to the original module after the test has finished?

Your example doesn’t show how DateTimeMock is used - how is code in MyTest2 interacting with it?

For instance, do you have the mock set in application config? In that case EVERY test will hit it. stub might be the way out.

In my case I’m assuming I’m working with a legacy code introducing Mox. So MyTest2 doesn’t have any expects. Thus it fails. Yeah I’ve been able to use stub_with to get around that issue, but it feels very hacky.

There are a few things. Mock modules of Mox are empty shells. Without expectations/stubs they don’t know what to do/return when being called. Therefore there’s a technical requirement to setting up expectations/stubs.

The other part is that you don’t want to have tests, which do not tell you about the usage of a mock. Without expectations/stubs being setup in a testcase any other developer might think the same code is run as is in production, which is not true.