Return value of Phoenix.LiveViewTest element/3

First of all, hi everyone!
I am a developer with py and js background in the process of learing Elixir (mandatory disclaimer).

I am writing tests for a Liveview project.
I have a form wich filters a list of items.
I would like to write a few tests to document the filtering behaviour.

I would like to assert that the number of elements on the page after the filters activation is correct.
First thing came to mind was has_element?/3 wich led me to element/3, and I saw that those functions raise an error if more that one element is returned.

Now, the questions:

1. Am I on the wrong path entirely? (In wanting to test the correct count of elements are rendered)
  2. On IRC I was suggested to use an external lib to count the elements, I’d prefer not (if there’s a vanilla way)
  3. I was wondering if an elements/3 is planned, or it’s a design decision to have that return only one element.

Thank you,
Carlo

1 Like

I’d say you’re on the right track. Maybe try something like this? Note the selector. You’d have to give a class to the list items:

option_count = length(list_of_options) 

assert view |> element(".list-item:nth-of-type(#{option_count})") |> has_element?()
refute view |> element(".list-item:nth-of-type(#{option_count + 1})") |> has_element?()

LiveViewTest uses Floki under the hood. See available selectors here: Overview — Floki v0.30.1

Floki does parse HTML into a tree data structure, which can be used to count elements. I think clever use of selectors should work well, though.

2 Likes

You can render the LiveView to a string with Phoenix.LiveViewTest.render/1, then parse with Floki.parse_fragment!/1, then search with Floki.find/2. After that, you could extract the text of all the matches with Floki.text/2 or extract some attribute with Floki.attribute/2. (As @a8t mentioned, Floki is already part of your app if you’re using LiveView.)

So your code might look something like:

items = 
  view
  |> render()