Router/Controller question for multi-lingual website

I’m a newbie so it may seem like a silly question, but I can’t find the right way to do the following…

What I want : urls with locale parameter followed by whatever path. Important: paths are localised too (I’d like to add “of course”, but it’s not often the case), so " /fr/photos" and “/en/pictures” should point to the same controller and action (the locale information should just be in the params).

If I use in my router scope "/:locale/", I get the locale in the params but I cannot specify that the path “photos” should be only when the locale is “fr”.

If I use the root scope, I can write the full paths but I won’t get the locale set in params (and it would be a pain to write different ctrlers)

What I’m thinking is the best option is to declare one scope per locale like this scope "/fr/", scope "/en/", … so every scope defines its own localised paths, and write one function per locale that would set the “locale” param that I would call via pipe_through.

I’d be glad to know the recommended way, as I do not know enough to make a good judgement!

You can create your own plug to set locale for you, but a easy way is to use set_locale.

So in your router you define your basic locale and scopes.

router.ex

pipeline :app do
    plug SetLocale, gettext: MyApp.Gettext, default_locale: "en"
  end
  scope "/:locale", MyAppWeb do
    pipe_through [:browser, :app, :browser_session]
    get "/", PageController, :index
  end

This will add locale as a params to your controller.
At this point you have a locale (fr, en, any…), so it’s up to you to use (to translate with gettext) or not (to provide photos) inside your controller.

controller.ex

def new(conn, params) do
    locale =
      params["locale"]
    conn
    |> render("new.html", changeset: changeset,
      locale: locale)
  end
1 Like