Scalability and fault-tolerance - Elixir vs Java

Hi folks,

I’m an Elixir newbie trying to understand how Elixir (Phoenix) compares with Java in terms of scalability and fault-tolerance for a typical web application backend (business logic + DB).

Scalability:
Phoenix spawns a new lightweight BEAM process when it receives a new request. Because it uses lightweight process, it can spawn a high number of process to handle a lot of requests. Once we hit the scalability limit with a single machine, we add more machines to scale horizontally.
Java also has lightweight threads and by adding more machines, we can scale horizontally. Then what additional advantages does Elixir (Phoenix) have over Java?

Fault tolerance:
Elixir uses supervisor to monitor the child processes. If a child process crashes, supervisor will restart it.
Java has exception handling to catch errors gracefully. The Java app can be restarted with operational support in place.
How is Elixir (Phoenix) superior to Java in terms of fault tolerance?

Please help me understand Elixir and Phoenix better. Thanks.

Having worked with a big Java System (Cassandra) for many years I think there are pretty strong advantages on the Elixir/BEAM side of things. Especially for WevServices for which you want to ensure they always stay up:

Scalability:
1 Memory & GC)
Behind BEAM lightweight process model is also a superior scaling memory model. With BEAM you can easily scale to multigigabyte RAM machines and never have any garbage collection freezes. Now with Java on the other hand you will find yourself dealing with global garbage collection freezes at scale. If you scale your service and suddenly you get 1, 10 or even 100 second pauses you know you’ve got a problem. https://stackoverflow.com/questions/21992943/persistent-gc-issues-with-cassandra-long-app-pauses#22002767