Scaling/Federating cluster(s) at planetary scale

So I’m new to elixir and currently work for one of those large tech firms.

I know for a personal project I would never have to do this, but with those large tech firms’ scale in mind I’ve come up with a puzzle and I just can’t seem to find guidance on approach.

Say I were building discord and wanted to publish messages/events to all connected users.

At first I could use a single node, then scale out and cluster up to perhaps a maximum of 200 nodes. (I’ve read alll of Discord’s blog posts on this, they are fantastic and interesting).

My issue comes in beyond that. I’ve read a number of papers referenced in other posts and stack overflow, but none seem to come up with a prescribed solution. The full mesh doesn’t work so you seem to have a couple options:

• Delegate the events to another system like kafka and subscribe to that instead, just use independent nodes (seems like I’m throwing away a lot of the point of BEAM).
  • Federate your system (say using GRPC to communicate between them, though I’d prefer to somehow use BEAM messages, but I’m not sure how to do this without adding to a cluster)
  • Don’t connect_all and disable epmd to get rid of noisy traffic (thus losing a lot of it’s benefit, but for ephemeral updates like messages that are persisted in a db elsewhere this is ok). Use something like libcluster then to discover nodes and keep track.
  • Make the “front end session nodes” hidden and create your own topology using libcluster or something custom rolled to load balance onto a publish/subscribe layer (which could be in a cluster topology for availability)
  • consider lasp

To be clear the topology I’m thinking is a very large load balanced front end that is too many nodes to be in a cluster and publish/subscribe to a system using BEAM messaging (instead of having to delegate to another distributed system).