SemanticReleaseHex - Fully automated version management and release processes

Hello, Elixir community!

I’m excited to introduce a new tool that aims to streamline version management and release processes for Elixir projects: semantic-release-hex.

Disclaimers

Before we dive in, I want to clarify that semantic-release-hex is a JavaScript library designed to enhance version management and release processes in Elixir projects. While it’s not an Elixir library per se, its integration with Elixir projects can bring the power and simplicity of semantic-release to your workflow.

I also want to mention that although it’s only been two weeks, I’ve recently been invited to the semantic-release organization. The reason I’m developing this library is unrelated to my membership in the organization and is solely motivated by my complete trust and utter admiration for that project, which I’ve been using for more than 6 years in all of my projects, both personal and professional.*

Why?

In the course of developing a SaaS project with Elixir & Phoenix, I encountered the challenge of automating version management while adhering to best practices. Initially being a JavaScript developer, I turned to the reliable semantic-release tool but found it lacking in Elixir integration. This led me to create semantic-release-hex.

semantic-release features

• Determining the next version number
  • Generating release notes & updating the changelog file
  • Creating a git tag
  • Publishing GitHub/GitLab releases
  • Commenting on released Pull Requests/Issues

semantic-release-hex features

• Updating the version in mix.exs

semantic-release-hex roadmap

Benefits

• Fully automated release
  • Enforce Semantic Versioning specification
  • New features and fixes are immediately available to users
  • Notify maintainers and users of new releases
  • Use formalized commit message convention to document changes in the codebase
  • Integrate with your continuous integration workflow