Send JavaScript variables from client to server

Hi I have the same issue that this person had here, but I do not think the solution is really relevant to what I am looking for and I don’t understand it that well without context. I tried to ask for clarification there, but I was not able to receive a response.

I just simply need a way to pass a variable from the client-side JS to the server-rendered views/templates.

I did look into this, but that honestly just appears to be above and beyond what I need and I’m wondering if there is a simpler way.

I am using Phoenix LiveView with Surface UI. I am new to elixir/phoenix. Thank you for any help.

1 Like

It depends on how complex your use-case is. If you need the Javascript variable to go through any logic on the server, then checkout LiveView Javascript Hooks, which work very well and you can create GenServer-like LiveControllers that react to client events. Most of the boilerplate is already setup in the included LiveView javascript.

However, if you simply want to display the values then the server can render an empty div with a specific id (tag) and the client-side JS can then use getElemementByTagName and set the value setting the innerHTML on the returned element.

1 Like

Thank you for the quick response. I have read through those JS interoperability docs in the past several times and did not see a clear way to achieve what I am setting out to do.

I don’t want to render the value directly into the HTML, I want to simply use the value to create dynamic HTML by using the value in a surface UI conditional

It’s definitely not that complex of a use case, it is literally just one JS variable value that stores a boolean that I want to pass to the view on the server so I can render some HTML conditionally

https://hexdocs.pm/phoenix_live_view/Phoenix.LiveView.html#push_event/3

This is the function that exists for pushing a message to JS.

1 Like