Setup to develop using elixir

Background

Recently I took upon a personal project to help someone very close to me. This project will be done in Elixir, but there is an issue - the machines I have access to are not strong enough to have a Linux VM (via VirtualBox or VMWare) on top of their installation and run Elixir.

I mention a VM, because I don’t want to install Elixir on the host, which most likely won’t even be my machine.

Options

The first thing that jumped to my mind was to use a cloud provider. However I have to pay them a monthly fee and I don’t feel comfortable with that idea.

The other option I can think of is using Docker. I have read some articles where people mention developer images for Elixir programmers. Ideally, I would be able to have all my code and environment in a docker image and then use an online editor to code and do the work.

Questions

But I have no experience with docker images for development. So naturally I have some questions:

1. what is your current setup for developing elixir?
  2. Do you use a docker image for development?
  3. Do you install things directly into your machine?
  4. Do you recommend any cloud provider or online IDE that I could try?

What operating system is your host driven by? If it’s not Linux, you’ll end up installing a VM which runs the docker anyway…

3 Likes

I use docker extensively for my development environment, although it does not come without it’s own set of challenges.

Current setup: Linux (Ubuntu), Docker installed locally, running containers built from either images pulled from docker or custom-made and volumes (for data persistence)
Do I use it for dev: yes
Do I install things locally: with the exception of docker, no.
I can’t recommend a provider as I have not used one for dev, but I use vscode which supports docker and ssl

I do my elixir work directly on macOS, but I also work on a larger JVM-based project and we decided to do development on Google Cloud Platform.