Simple 1-file ETS demonstration you can try

Have you ever run ETS, Elixir’s famous in-memory caching mechanism?

If not, I have prepared this short code sample you can clone and run as a single file to demonstrate it in use, just start it from the command line with elixir cloudcomputing.exs

I am just learning ETS myself, so any feedback about my file is welcome for those who have run it.

3 Likes

Nice. FYI, there’s an Elixir wrapper for ETS.

https://hexdocs.pm/ets/ETS.html

I’ve never used Elixir for scripting, so I’m sure there’s a way to add dependencies, but not sure offhand.

2 Likes

I can see some possible enhancement…

• use handle_continue for probable long load in the init
  • use a direct ets call to retrieve data, without calling the genserver
    currently You use the table as if it was private… but You set it as public.
    I prefer protected :slight_smile:
  • use spawn link to link both process (main and task)
    it’s a good place to use trap exit, and manage task death in the genserver

Just some quick things I would do

I also prefer Process.send_after instead of :timer.sleep
If I can I would avoid using :timer

5 Likes

Well for match specs i might use a wrapper/library, but otherwise i try to just use the :erlang stuff directly, no unnecessary abstraction.
~3k LOC just so i can write ETS instead of :ets.
And its missing :ets.lookup_element/4.

I would replace all those
:ets.tab2list(:sensor_data) |> Enum.filter
with :ets.match/match_delete/select/select_delete

3 Likes

Thanks for the tip! I’ve made this replacementt.

Here’s the explanation of the the $1 and $2 there, which I wasn’t familiar with:

"