Slow response times on Heroku

Hey guys. I’m pretty new to Elixir and Phoenix after swapping from NodeJS & MongoDB. Some of my requests are taking 1-2 seconds on the first attempt. Each request thereafter is about 300-400ms. How do I increase the speed of these responses? The smaller responses range from 40-60ms to 100-150ms on my local machine on the first request. The server is located in the US and I’m in Australia. (This adds about 300ms automatically)

Do these numbers sound normal? What steps can I take to increase these speeds?

• I’ve tried increasing the Ecto pool size to 20
  • I’m running a Heroku Hobby plan

Well, they kinda sound normal to me but it’s hard to judge without codebase. The only thing thing that is really strange is increased first attempt speed and i have no clue what could case that. Anyway the first thing that i would look is the database. check indexes and n+1 stuff.

The reason for the slower response on the first hit is that you are most likely running your application via mix, which will lazy load code. If you were running a release, the code would be eagerly loaded, and you would most likely not notice such a large initial slowdown.

As for other slow responses - without knowing the details of the query being made, we won’t be much help. Is it using indexes? 50-100ms isn’t too bad though. If you’re still not happy, perhaps consider using a service to profile the request. That would provide greater insight into what is going on.

1 Like

I was experiencing the same on test deploys to Heroku, but that was because I was using the free plan, where the dyno will sleep after 30 minutes of inactivity.

2 Likes

When I was first experimenting with Elixir I used Herokus free hosting tier and experienced exactly the behaviour OP is describing. However he’s on the Hobby plan (which doesn’t sleep) that I later used and found to be very quick, with no delays on the first request.