"Softer" defoverideable / use at bottom of script from top

Hi, I’m relatively new to Elixir, so I apologize if my question falls under the category of “you should not want this behavior”, but I’m currently stuck on a problem that I don’t have the specific vocab to easily google.

Basically, I’m trying to import another module such that the the implementations in the imported module have lower priority than those in the module that contains the import.as a bare example:

defmodule GenericImpl do
    fn test(_) do
        :A
    end
    fn call_test(x) do
        test(x)
    end
end
defmodule SpecificImpl do
    fn test(3) do
        :B
    end
end

I’m trying to find a way for SpecificImpl.call_test(3) to return :B, but for all other inputs to return ;A.

So far, I’ve tried import (which doesn’t make SpecificImpl.call_test exist at all), using “use” to insert the source of GenericImpl directly into SpecificImpl (which makes it always return :A), using defoverrideable (which makes anything SpecificImpl.call_test(3) an error), and using “use” at the bottom of SpecificImp to insert the source from GenericImpl below SpecificImpl. This last one works, but it feels dirty, and I’d like to keep cross-module dependencies at the top of the module if possible.

Is there a proper way to do this?

1 Like

I believe the answer might be indeed “you probably should not want this”.
Instead, we usually go for one of these two more explicit approaches:

1. We fall back to code in another module by referencing it directly:
defmodule SimpleLogger do
  def log(term) do
    IO.inspect(term)
  end
end

defmodule IntLogger do
  def log(integer) when is_integer(integer) do
    IO.puts("We have an integer:")
    IO.inspect(integer)
  end
  def log(other) do
    SimpleLogger.log(other)
  end
end
  1. If the code you want to fall back to is injected rather than in a separate module, we fall back using defoverridable.
defmodule ExampleServer do
  use GenServer