Static Website Generator ? - Want to learn Elixir

Hello everyone, I’m new here and I’ve no experience with Elixir at all.
My coding experience = beginner, I’ve done some basic Python in past while studing it. I’ve still to learn a lot. I’m doing some C++ too but, I’m just following some Unreal Engine tutorials.

I would like to learn a functional programming language and, to me, Elixir seems a good choice.
I’m not looking for a job as developer, but I want to do the best I can.

Right now I need to do a simple website.
I was looking for a static website generator and thought about using Hugo, Go lang, and host it on Netlify, because of basic free hosting and SSL.

Is there a good static website generator for Elixir ? Would Elixir with Phoenix be overkill for this simple project ?
I would like to avoid Go, Hugo since I’ve no plans, actually, to use it later.

I also admit that I’m a bit confused when I’ve to compare Elixir with Python, both general purpose languages.
I mean, I know Python is being used everywhere and is easy to understand what could be done with the language, It is just not so clear to me if Elixir could be used for the same “tasks” too.

Have a nice day.

1 Like

Have a look at this

Yes, Elixir with Phoenix would be overkill for this, since you would have to setup Erlang and Elixir environment on the server.

Phoenix is fast, but it will not beat simple Nginx rendering static content. Do not know how Netlify’s CDN is optimized though :slight_smile:

2 Likes

How big will the static site be? If only a few pages why not just create a html/css site perhaps with something like foundation css?

1 Like

Honestly it will be really small, just few pages, a simple basic business website to show what the “client” do, and a page for contact info.
You’re right I can do it with just html/css, didn’t know about foundation css, thank you.

This simple projects was more an excuse to practicing with Elixir :blush:

1 Like