Stones on a beach

I’m curious to see your thoughts on the broad question I posed here:

My background is in UI development, writing a lot of iOS apps, so I probably run with a different crew than most of the people on this forum. I’d love to hear your perspectives.

4 Likes

I’m a beginner programmer and this entitles me of saying stupid things with no consequences, so here goes :smiley:

In my opinion… software should be written in terms of self contained units of computation.
Like small bubbles with inputs and outputs.
This is why I like the idea of processes and message passing.

As far as I know OO is trying to put abstract things in a box and hope they never change in a huge system.
As the internet of things is about the hit the interwebs, there’s no telling what kind of madness of data there will be out there and is it possible to produce a system that can change fast enough to take advantage of both the data and the different ways it can be used.

So I really like to think of this in biological terms, another area I’m not an expert in, so I can say stupid things about it too :stuck_out_tongue:
As far as I know, the human brain doesn’t process 100% of the input it receives from sensory data.
So it has inputs that convert outside data to useful signals for the brain, then the brain picks and chooses what it likes with pattern matching, and so it outputs a product that makes sense for itself.

If there’s a system that can take inputs as diverse as the universe and can output something meaningful, I think it’s worth looking at for inspiration :slight_smile:
Maybe the key is not to change yourself all the time in order to make sense of the ever changing outside world, but rather to change the perception of the outside world in order for it to fit in whatever makes sense to you.