Struct fields as arguments

Hello. Newbie here:
My question is: Is it possible to pass a struct field as an argument of a function?

I have seen that if you have a struct, then you can use %Struct_name{ old_struct | field_name: new_value }.

What I want is to have a generic function, say, change_struct_field(data, field_name, new_value). The problem is that I don’t know how to pass the (field_name) to become (field_name:).

Is there an idiomatic way to do this?

Many thanks

Structs are just maps with atoms for keys. So you can do:

def change_struct_field(data, field_name, new_value) do
  Map.put(data, field_name, new_value)
end

# and call it like
change_struct_data(%StructName{some_field: "some value"}, :some_field, "some other value")
1 Like

Many thanks for your reply.

I have to apologize because what I want is actually to rebind the “Strctuct object” I am passing to the function to its new value after the field value is change.

Sure, if I use: Map.put(data, field_name, new_value), it will give me the new object, and I can do:
data = Map.put(data, field_name, new_value). If I do this in my function definition, I get the warning that data is not being used.

So, I thought that what I want is:

data = %StructName{ data | field_name Map.put(data, field_name, new_value).field_name}
end

and this will give an error, of course, because the struct constructor is expecting key value pairs.

Actually. when thinking about this, my question could be more general, and becomes: how can I pass certain value and make it an atom? AM I right in this thinking?

There are no objects. Only immutable data and functions.

If you have a struct where you want to change a single key, you have to create a new based on the old, only changing that key. There is no changing in place as you would do it in most OOP or imperative languages.

2 Likes

Many thanks. Yes, I guess, I was thinking the OOP way.
I need to think differently :slight_smile:

Hassan