Structuring supervisor tree for newsletter application

I am extending an existing application to allow users to be able to write and send newsletters and struggling with determining a proper supervision tree (I’m relatively new to OTP so please bear with me).

Overview

Users can create a single Newsletter, which has “subscribers” via a Subscription schema. A user may write multiple Letters within a given newsletter, each of which may be sent to a subset of their subscribers, which I’ll call “recipients”.

After a user writes a Letter and goes to send it, the plan is to kick off a background job to handle the sending of letters to all recipients.

First Attempt

• Create a Task.Supervisor called App.MailmanSupervisor and add it to the top-level Application supervisor as a child.
  • Create a App.LetterDeliveryDispatcher, which is a DynamicSupervisor that will supervise individual App.LetterDeliveryServices, one for each Letter to send. This is also started by the top level Application.
  • App.LetterDeliveryService is a GenServer that manages sending a single Letter to all specified recipients. These are dynamically created (by calling App.LetterDeliveryDispatcher.add_child when it is time to send a given letter.

The App.LetterDeliveryService

This GenServer would take the Letter.id as a parameter to start_link/1 and add a Map called deliveries to its state in init/1 to keep track of the status of individual deliveries.

Then, to handle the sending of letters to individual recipients, use Task.Supervisor.async_stream_nolink/4 from a handle_continue/2 callback. Process and filter the results, handling {:exit, reason} tuples (I’m using zip_input_on_exit with async_stream_nolink) so that they include their result. Ultimately, update the deliveries map in the state with: {:stop, :normal, %{state | deliveries: deliveries} based on these return values, which would yield a map looking like:

%{
1 => :pending,
2 => {:delivered, 34},
3 => {:failed, :timeout},
}