Successful Software Development Crash Course

Preface: I’m not sure if thise is the right place, because this is not direclty Elixir related… but I’ve always got some of the best advice from this community.

Current situation: Spinning wheels… false starts… moving way too slow trying to get a software project airborne.

Mission:

Get a broad spectrum, eagles eye overview of best development practices, tools, resources, systems, techniques, streamlining, optimisations, unspoken tricks & practices etc. used to produce some of the best code we’ve seen so far, complete with case studies of successful projects, case studies of unsuccessful projects.

On the other side of the deep dive, have enough of an understanding of the landscape that I can avoid the common pitfalls that cause software projects to fail… compressioning years into days.

I’ve largely been self-taught. From that, a lot of frustration, and I’m sure bad habits developed.

I want to expose those now. And move forward with a much stronger, broad spectrum grounding of not the details of coding, but more so, what it takes to make a software project successful, from start to finish.

What do you recommend?

8 Likes

Read Extreme Programming Explained: Embrace Change, 2nd Edition (The XP Series)

That should get you far enough.

3 Likes

I’d say get a few books. Look at the new Book Club section – people give really honest reviews and gists about the chapters.

As for general best practices, don’t tempt us. :003: Some of us can talk about this for weeks. But IMO wisdom cannot be transferred to anyone with words alone; one has to have grown to understand the problem the wisdom solves in order to accept it. Not sure that any amount of explaining will help.

That being said: make a small project that you’re comfortable with it being public. Offer it for review here. You’ll get objective and constructive advice.