Suitability of Elixir to math-oriented apps

Hello everyone,

I’m so glad to have discovered this awesome community. Thanks for creating it! This is my second post, and apologies for any inadvertent breach of protocol by posting this (a variation of a prior reply to a related topic) as a separate post.

I’m just learning Elixir and have encountered a few pronouncements that Elixir is slow and may not be well suited to heavy data/analytics applications. At the same time I’ve seen references to Elixir conference presentations on Big Data applications. As a result I am seeking calibration on the kinds of math-oriented/analytics apps are well suited to Erlang.

A specific use case: I am considering using Elixir/Phoenix for the backend of a Mint-like web app. The app will principally track budget/actual entries, perform predictive / Monte Carlo / scenario modeling and produce datasets for front-end rendered charts.

I’m excited to learn and apply Elixir to this task; but would like to qualify the suitability of Elixir/Phoenix to this type of app.

Thoughts?

4 Likes

Elixir, like Java and other systems, complies down to a byte code that runs on a virtual machine. As such low level operations like floating point math usually go through a level or two of indirection. My understanding is that Elixir, Erlang, and their peers may not be the most performant option for number-intensive calculations.

What Elixir and Erlang thrive at is parallelism. In the case of Big Data applications you typically see gains from that kind of parallelism. Running really intensive calculations may not be a forte, but running a bunch of them at the same time could be a win.

3 Likes

Thanks @easco. This is helpful.

I’m not sure if a Mint-like app is considered math intensive or not; but with multiple simultaneous users each viewing scenarios based on on their unique data sets, it’s possible that the app may benefit from Erlang’s multi-threaded/parallel processing capabilities.