Supervisor without any children

I was looking over the source code for plug_cowboy and saw that in the Plug.Cowboy.start/2 they return a supervisor without any children Supervisor.start_link([], strategy: :one_for_one). What’s the reasoning for doing that?

I’m somewhat new to Elixir, so really interested in learning.

Thanks!

2 Likes

I’d say the children are started dynamically later. (without knowing about the inner workings of cowboy)

Oh, but wouldn’t that require a DynamicSupervisor?

Not really. You can add children dynamically to “regular” supervisors as well. The thing is that if you add them to “regular” one it is assumed that these will live forever rather than being temporary.

4 Likes

Thank you @hauleth and also thanks to you @Sebb for clearing that up. I’ll investigate the code further and see if I can find out where children are added.

Thank you for the clarification @hauleth
I’ve been wondering that for a while.

I think it is worth mentioning this in the documentation.

After looking at the source code this is my impression, I could be off on some or all aspects but I think this is generally correct.

Plug.Cowboy provides Plug.Cowboy.child_spec/1. When you add Plug.Cowboy to your supervision tree it starts a listener. Here’s some informative documentation and example from the library, found in lib/plug/cowboy/drainer.ex

defmodule Plug.Cowboy.Drainer do
  @moduledoc """
  Process to drain cowboy connections at shutdown.

When starting `Plug.Cowboy` in a supervision tree, it will create a listener that receives
  requests and creates a connection process to handle that request. During shutdown, a
  `Plug.Cowboy` process will immediately exit, closing the listener and any open connections
  that are still being served. However, in most cases, it is desirable to allow connections
  to complete before shutting down.

This module provides a process that during shutdown will close listeners and wait