System resources used when using Elixir with MySQL vs PostgreSQL

Have any of you compared MySQL vs PostgreSQL resource usage in your Phoenix app? I would go with Postgres but I am afraid that because my site is mostly about reads (MySQL is better here) and less about writes (Postgres is better here) Postgres would be a bad choice. Also, apparently Postgres is much more RAM hungry and spawns more processes and MySQL can handle more connections with the same amount of RAM.

But this is only stuff I read, I have no real world experience with this.

Have any of you tested both MySQL and Postgres with your Phoenix app? What were the results?

1 Like

Until you grow to the size, where you will be able to hire someone to handle that for you, then you will probably do not see any difference.

It is hard to tell what will work better in your particular use case, so you will need to do benchmarking on your own. However I think that you will still see no difference, and if so, it will be indistinguishable from noise.

4 Likes

This is from here: PostgreSQL vs. MySQL: 9 key criteria to drive your database decision

PostgreSQL starts a new process with its own memory allocation for each connection it establishes, so it requires a lot of memory on systems with a high number of client connections. MySQL uses a single process and maintains one thread (or path of execution) per connection, which results in less memory pressure.

In most sane environments there is a connection pool so the number of connections are bounded. The per process in PG overhead is not a big deal.

If I have to some layman comparison between PG and MySQL I would say that PG is more dev friendly, and MySQL is more ops friendly.

1 Like

Thanks, I think I will go with MySQL then.

The scaling in the future factor is a huge plus of MySQL.