TDD in Elixir with tests that hit the database

I’m new to Elixir, and I’m wondering if I might be doing something wrong in my tests. Right now, I have only 105 tests, but they take ~30 seconds to run. For TDD, this is much too slow. The tests that seem to be the slowest are those where I need one or more database record to exist in order to test that I can then add other related records. For example, I might need a user so that I can create a bank account for that user, and I need both the user and the bank account in order to add or query for transactions. In one such test set, 9 unit tests are taking 2+ seconds, and in another 15 tests are taking ~3.5 seconds.

I’ve seen other posts that suggest that unit tests in Elixir should be very fast, even when they interact with the database. I’ve also seen some posts about using the async flag, but, based on those posts, I’m confused as to whether that is good or bad when the tests use the database. In Java, I would likely isolate the data access layer so that it could be mocked for testing or replaced with an in-memory database to improve speed, but it seems those techniques are not generally used with Elixir.

Are there some general tips, tricks, or common pitfalls that might help me speed up these tests?

You can use async exunit with tests against a database:
https://hexdocs.pm/ecto/testing-with-ecto.html#content

Basically the way to think about it is that you have your database sandbox itself so each test exists in its own parallel universe that gets generated when you perform a checkout operation. As long as your access queries run in the same BEAM process it should know which database sandbox instance belongs to its parallel universe. Also I think if you shoot of a Task it should also pass that information to the Task. If your database query goes through a GenServer, you might have a hard time (though i have done this and deeper parallel universes are doable, I would say it is not really for beginners).