Testing a phoenix channel with multiple clients

Hi I’m just starting out with Elixir and Phoenix so I want to see if I’m going about this the right way. Let’s say I have a Phoenix Channel that acts as a chat client. All users that are in the same room/topic can either send messages directly to one another, or “shout” them so that everyone gets the message. I can make a test for shout like this:

# replaced some unimportant params with ... to keep this small 
test "shout" do
  assert {:ok, _, socket1} = socket("", %{}) |> subscribe_and_join(...)
  assert {:ok, _, _socket2} = socket("", %{}) |> subscribe_and_join(...)

push(socket1, "shout", "hi")

assert_broadcast("shout", %{msg: "hi"})
end

But the issue is that this only tests that the message got sent twice. If somehow it got broadcasted twice but only to one of the clients the test would still pass. Since clients are identified by their pid it looks like the only way to differentiate is to spawn a new process for each client. I really want the test to be this:

1. client1 joins room
  2. client2 joins room
  3. client1 shouts “hi”
  4. client1 receives “hi” shout and client2 receives “hi” shout (order not important)

It’s sort of ugly but I can do that like this:

test "shout2" do
  task1 = Task.async(fn ->
    receive do :proceed -> :ok end # make sure client2 has joined before shouting
  end)

task2 = Task.async(fn ->
    send(task1.pid, :proceed)
  end)

Enum.map([task1, task2], &Task.await/1)
end

That works, but it seems like it could become a pain to write tests like this especially since my real use case is more complicated. To simplify things I made a GenServer called AsyncSocket that allows me to write the test like this:

test "shout3" do
  s1 = AsyncSocket.create_and_join(...)
  s2 = AsyncSocket.create_and_join(...)

AsyncSocket.push s1, "shout", "hi"
  AsyncSocket.assert_broadcast s1, "shout", %{msg: "hi"}
  AsyncSocket.assert_broadcast s2, "shout", %{msg: "hi"}
end