Thoughts and feeling about mixing Elm with Phoenix?

Hi all,

I’ve seen a number of related threads in the past, but I’d still be very curious to hear an up-to-date opinion on this topic.

I’m new to web development, I started off with learning backend frameworks and of the ones I tried I decided to go with Phoenix. I spent the last week or so reviewing frontend frameworks at a high level and I thought that Elm was a particularly interesting one. However, I feel that pretty much all major SPA frameworks are complex and on top of that if you do decide to use it with a Phoenix backend, then you are not going to be making the most of Phoenix (e.g. LiveView and even EEX).

Do you think that Elm and Phoenix are a good combo? More specifically, do you think the benefits that you gain from using Elm justify giving up Phoenix’s frontend features?

Lastly, I’d like to add that the same question can be raised about any other FE framework, so if you have any opinions about frameworks other than Elm, then I’d be keen to hear from you too.

3 Likes

Last time I checked Elm does not allow call out to javascript functions. Most people will have to use some third party javascript code one way or the other, so that’s a big no-no for me.

If you are doing solo project and are happy with with pure elm in the frontend, then there is nothing in phoenix to stop you.

I’m having a great experience mixing Fable (F# to js) with Phoenix.
Fable has Elmish which is Elm architecture on F#.
It uses react as its renderer and using Feliz which is a nice DSL over React, you can turn your individual MVU into a react component.
You can also call into js functions and vice versa and it is simple to write bindings to js libraries if it doesnt already exist.

In fact, I implemented an app in Liveview and then things got so hairy that I rewrote it with just Phoenix and Fable. Alpine js wasnt enough for my needs.

2 Likes