To improve a function

Hello,

I am still an Elixir newbie. To learn I keep on asking questions like this…
Can I improve this two functions? It feels like but I do not know how.

defp get_url(team_id) when team_id > 0 do
    "a_url_removed_because_not_public" <>
      Kernel.inspect(team_id)
  end

defp get_url(team_id) when team_id == 0 do
    "a_url_removed_because_not_public" 
  end

besides doing them as one-liners:

defp get_url(team_id) when team_id > 0; do:  "a_url_removed_because_not_public" <> Kernel.inspect(team_id)

defp get_url(team_id) when team_id == 0; do:  "a_url_removed_because_not_public" 

It still looks as it contains too much redundant code.

1 Like

I’d add a guard is_integer(team_id) as any non numeric type is greater than 0.

Also, I’d use string interpolation rather than inspect.

Inspection in general is something I’d only use for logging, never to create a user facing string.

4 Likes

You might use

defp get_url(0) do ...
4 Likes

Quite possibly!
Here are a couple of questions for you, that might help you:

• Are the URLs in the two function clauses the same? If they are, you could extract this out to either another function, or to a module attribute.
  • Instead of using Kernel.inspect (which is meant to only be used for logging/introspection), you probably want to use to_string, or string interpolation. Also, there is no reason to use Kernel. in front of a function, because the Kernel module is always (unless explicitly overridden) imported into a module.
  • Why have the get_ in the name of the function? Depending on the context, this might matter for the meaning of the function name but maybe it is fluff that does not add extra meaning.
4 Likes

Thanks, this is putting me forward :slight_smile:

Hm. I thought functions should be a verb as they are doing something with the data they get (I think that goes back to university days).