Understanding changesets... is it better to have one or multiple changesets?

Hi,
this is probably a silly question, but I’m an Elixir and Phoenix beginner, learning new things every day.

Let’s say I have a project schema with couple of fields like title, description and status.

schema "projects" do
    field :title, :string
    field :description, :string
    field :status, :string
end

I want to be able to update title and description from one function and I want to have completely different function to update just status. Would it be better to use one changeset for both of those functions or would it be better to split it into two changeset?

def changeset(%Project{} = project, attrs) do
    project
    |> cast(attrs, [:title, :description, :status])
end

vs

def base_changeset(%Project{} = project, attrs) do
    project
    |> cast(attrs, [:title, :description])
end

def status_changeset(%Project{} = project, attrs) do
    project
    |> cast(attrs, [:status])
end

I hope someone will be able to help me understand this.

1 Like

You will probably want two changesets. Especially if you are using Phoenix, because when you construct the forms, it will use the changeset for validation. So if you have a form with inputs for title and description, and then another form with a dropdown menu to change the status, you want the appropriate changeset for each use case.

3 Likes

This is one of those things where there is probably more than one way valid way to proceed so long as you’re consistent within the project that you’re working. I’ll give you my take on it. Also, I’m assuming that the changeset will ultimately be used to update a database somewhere. This is not the only use case for changesets, but its the one I’m most familiar with and for which I’ve formed some opinions so will be my focus here.