Using Cachex in Phoenix - working example?

I’m new to Elixir and Phoenix and I’m trying to implement Cachex. I’m struggling to get this working. I added the dependency to my mix.exs and I modified my application function so it references the Cachex app:

def application do
    [
      mod: {MyApp.Application, []},
      extra_applications: [:logger, :runtime_tools],
      applications: [:cachex]
    ]
  end

deps.get downloaded the package and that all seems to be working.

In my application.ex, I have tried to add the appropriate block to the Supervisor.start_link:

def start(_type, _args) do
    import Supervisor.Spec

# Define workers and child supervisors to be supervised
    children = [
      supervisor(MyApp.Repo, []),
      supervisor(MyApp.Endpoint, []),
      worker(Cachex, [:my_cache, []]),
    ]

opts = [strategy: :one_for_one, name: MyApp.Supervisor]
    Supervisor.start_link(children, opts)

end

As soon as I try to run the server, I get an error:

mix phx.server
Compiling 16 files (.ex)
Generated my_app app

=INFO REPORT==== 12-Feb-2018::15:32:28 ===
    application: logger
    exited: stopped
    type: temporary
** (Mix) Could not start application my_app: MyApp.Application.start(:normal, []) returned an error: shutdown: failed to start child: MyApp.Repo
    ** (EXIT) exited in: GenServer.call(Ecto.Registry, {:associate, #PID<0.367.0>, {MyApp.Repo, MyApp.Repo.Pool, [name: MyApp.Repo.Pool, otp_app: :my_app, repo: MyApp.Repo, timeout: 15000, pool_timeout: 5000, adapter: Ecto.Adapters.MySQL, username: "my_user", password: "xxxxx", database: "my_db", hostname: "my.host.tld", pool_size: 10, pool: DBConnection.Poolboy]}}, 5000)
        ** (EXIT) no process: the process is not alive or there's no process currently associated with the given name, possibly because its application isn't started