Using Task.start with receive -- is this the same as Task.async?

Hello! I am studying the Task module and I am trying to teach myself some patterns of concurrency in Elixir. I found something like this while reading the documentation for Process.sleep/1:

Task.start_link(fn ->
      Process.sleep(:timer.seconds(1))
      send(parent, :work_is_done)
end)

receive do
  :work_is_done -> IO.puts("Task complete!")
after
  2_000 -> IO.puts("Operation timed out.")
end

My question is: is this the same as using Task.async?

async_task = Task.async(fn ->
      Process.sleep(:timer.seconds(1))
      :work_is_done
end)

val = Task.await(async_task)
IO.inspect(val)
# :work_is_done

So this gives me 3 questions (related) that I hope someone can explain to me:

1. Does Task.await function the same way as the send + receive example? (I like the syntax of Task.async and Task.await, but I want to make sure this is only syntax difference)
  2. I tried doing send/recieve from Task.start/1 and it seems to work the same as Task.start_link/1. Is there case where Task.start/1 must be used or case where Task.start_link/1 must be used?
  3. If I have a list of tasks, is it always better to use Task.async_stream? I tried using Enum.map to put many Task.asyncs together and it seems like Task.async_stream is a better way.

Thank you! I want to try to understand this well before I study GenServers.

1. Generally yes. There is more stuff that is done underneath but at the end we use send and receive. The same information you can find in the documentation:

One of the common uses of tasks is to convert sequential code into concurrent code with Task.async/1 while keeping its semantics. When invoked, a new process will be created, linked and monitored by the caller. Once the task action finishes, a message will be sent to the caller with the result.