Using Webcomponents in LiveView - Pros and Cons

I am considering using Overview (shoelace.style) for the front-end part of the application.
Has anyone used web components as part of the LiveView? Will it slowdown the application significantly? Yes - handling forms might be unnecessarily complicated. Any other downsides? Is there any upside?

2 Likes

I have no experience using web components with LiveView, but there was a good talk about it at ElixirConf 2021: ElixirConf 2021 - Chris Nelson - LiveView and Web Components - YouTube

3 Likes

I use custom components for small jobs in combination with live view. It worked very well so far.
When I want to give the full control of the tag content to the custom component, I put an phx-update=“ignore“ attributed at it. To pass data to the component via live view I use attributes and their change callbacks.

I would post example code here, but I am on vacation and my laptop had to stay at home.

8 Likes

I am investigating using shoelace with liveview currently.

The plan is to use Chris Nelsons live_elements with Shoelace web components.

Reason for this selection:

• Lack of a comprehensive and professional phoenix component library. No, petal components doesn’t cut it.
  • Web components don’t require buying into a JavaScript framework ecosystem
  • Shoelace is framework agnostic so I can use it everywhere, that means static sites, dead views, liveview, react, vue, svelte etc.
  • Shoelace has excellent design tokens making it easy to broadly theme an app, and also specifically target parts within web-components (which use a shadow DOM) and to do so in a way that is not subject to churn within the component. Components can basically remain a black box and still have their sub elements styled without fragility.
  • very approachable styling and design tokens in Shoelace using CSS variables, nothing complicated about it.