Using websockets only for some pages

I am trying to turn on websockets only for some pages of my app and not others. Unfortunately, every example I have found shows modifying socket.js which then turns on websockets for the entire app.

Any way to do this using brunch or do I need to make major changes?

I am using standard Phoenx/Elixir/Brunch.

And second question, is there any way to access classes, variables I create in custom js in the the static/js folders? I get them to load on app.js with import calls but my templates are unable to access the classes or variables I create.

I’m a bit of a newbie still so still getting the hang of this.

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

Well, if you want to activate sockects only for specific pages, then you I guess should include sockect.js file only in those views and take out from main bundler.

1 Like

Hi,

I have suffered the same issue. I only wanted to execute specific JS depending on the rendered template (some for the channels/websockets others for other things). As @krapans has suggested, you only have to include the JS file that will connect to the channel in those pages where you need, but now what we have is a brunch configuration problem.

You can read the post that I wrote about that: Post

I have a project in production using this approach and it is working without any problem.

Good luck !!

1 Like

I delete default socket.js and split the part that sets up a socket and the one that connects to a channel, something like that in some_socket.js

import {Socket} from "phoenix";
const someSocket = new Socket("/socket");

// set up channel / auth token, join channel, add socket-specific functions

export {someFunction as someFunction};
export {otherFunction as otherFunction};
// ...
export {someSocket as socket};

then in a template(s) where I need this functionality I render a partial that initiates everything

var someSocket = require('app/some_socket');
someSocket.socket.connect();