Veteran Laravel developer looking to expand my skillset

I’m a long-time Laravel developer (since 2012) and find its developer experience really amazing. Coupled with newer tools like Inertia.js (which is backend-agnostic) I’m able to build quite quickly.

However, I’m beginning to feel too comfortable with it to the point I’m too lazy/scared to try something new. I’ve lurked in Elixir + Phoenix communities for a while and love what I hear.

As many of us know, the best way to learn something is to just go for it and start building. Are there any other devs who have come from similar PHP/Laravel backgrounds that have made the switch that have advice? Any caveats/pain points?

A couple features that make Laravel very ergonomic and I’m not sure if Phoenix has equivalent features:

I’m sure I’m missing other things… Thanks!

G’day :smiley:

For background jobs there is the postgres backed Oban library, which is rather popular. There are others too.

Mailer is now included with the Phoenix generators. See phx.gen.notifier.

1 Like

That’s so awesome to hear about your great experience with Laravel. I’m not familiar with it at all outside of liking several companies that (I think) use it since they work with PHP.

I was going to say what @cmo mentioned in regards to your first note:

Oban is amazing for this, and you could very easily build a simpler version in Elixir (super fast depending on your requirements), but I use Oban for Metamorphic and I think you’ll be super pleased with it as well.

I’m not sure you’ll find as comprehensive an all-in-one-system or “one-stop-shop” (at least, not yet — there are definitely best practices and recommended approaches :blush:). But, for broadcasting, you’ve got an incredible experience on your hands with Phoenix PubSub and LiveView (now 0.17+).

I’d say it’d be pretty easy to build out notifications in your application in LiveView with PubSub and have a super slick “real-time” distributed experience.