Wanting to know more about the "Elixir" way of doing things

I’m still fairly new to the language. I wanted to know more about the “Elixir” way of doing things so I wrote a tiny program 3 ways, but I’m not sure which is the “right way”. I know you’d normally want only one module per page, this is just for demonstration purposes.

This one has the most isoloation of responsibilities:

defmodule Shapes do
  defmodule Rectangle do
    defstruct [:width, :height]

def perimeter(%Rectangle{width: width, height: height}) do
      2 * (width + height)
    end

def area(%Rectangle{width: width, height: height}) do
      width * height
    end
  end

defmodule Circle do
    defstruct [:radius]

def area(%Circle{radius: radius}) do
      radius * radius * :math.pi()
    end
  end
end

This one leverages pattern matching a little more.

defmodule Shape do
  defmodule Rectangle do
  end

defmodule Circle do
  end

2 * (width + height)
  end

width * height
  end

radius * radius * :math.pi()
  end
end

This is my attempt at implementing it as a protocol. I’m a little unsure
because to my understanding protocols are for taking in different types.

defprotocol Shape do
  def area(data)
  def perimeter(data)
end

defmodule Rectangle do

defimpl Shape, for: Rectangle do
      width * height
    end

2 * (width + height)
    end
  end
end

defmodule Circle do

defimpl Shape, for: Circle do
      :math.pi() * radius * radius
    end
  end
end

Thank you for any help :slight_smile:

3 Likes

You don’t need the for: when the defimpl is nested in the module it’s implementing for.

If this were actually intended to be reused I would also maybe make your modules be Shape.Rectangle and Shape.Circle to avoid module name piracy (keep as many top level namespaces open, we have aliases to help readability)

2 Likes