What are your opinions on the new Macs Apple announced today?

I’ve been using a Mac almost exclusively for the last 7/8 years. However, Windows is looking very appealing especially with introduction of bash.

If you had to buy a new computer today would you buy one of the new Macs?

I’m a Mac user, so yes, I would buy one of the ones announced today if I needed one :003:

If I was ever going to switch to something else, it would probably be Linux…

Btw, if you can wait another year or so, they are working on new Mac Pros :slight_smile: (if you need that kind of power).

https://twitter.com/elixirlang/status/871853635759734784

:003:

2 Likes

Was a heavy Mac user for most of the last 10 years but I switched to Fedora in January and won’t go back.

I got tired of having hardware decisions made for me, especially when they started going out of their way to make opening up laptops to make upgrades yourself such a pain. Still recommend them for my non-techie friends though.

1 Like

Yep. Nice screens decent specs. 27" 5k iMac costs same as a stand alone Dell 5k monitor so computer is free :slight_smile:

1 Like

I would attribute that to “the grass looking greener on the other side” - and in this particular case I would suggest “don’t waste your time”.

Microsoft, Google, Apple, etc. can always be relied on to do what is best for them - not what is best for you - but the leadership behind these companies constantly changes making it sometimes hard to pin down what the company vision actually is and how firmly they are actually committed to it. In contrast I find that it is typically much easier to gauge what is going on with (and get behind) the various OSS communities (and the BDFLs) - in short if you are bailing on Apple start looking at the various community supported *nixes and pick one where the community makes sense to you.