What can go wrong with GenServers?

Howdy! I’m a researcher trying to understand better how people use Elixir. I have a fair amount of personal experience with Elixir, but I need more than one data point. :slight_smile: I’m particularly interested in GenServers—particularly how they can go wrong.

Have you ever encountered a GenServer that was sensitive to the order of certain messages? E.g. imagine you had a GenServer acting as a proxy for a web service; you might need to send the server :connect to get a token, and only after that could you send it {:request, body} messages.

When have you had bugs with GenServers?

1 Like

One of the dangerous things that can go wrong with genserver is leaking memory when using large binaries. Depending on your orchestration, you can easily take the server down too if you run out of memory.

There are lot of articles on this topic, here is one of them: https://medium.com/coletiv-stories/genservers-memory-issues-ef42cc42e3e9

3 Likes

GenServer handled messages in order; so message ordering is usually not a problem. My usual bugs with GenServer are:

• start up sequence. For example, GenServer A needs so to be started before GenServer B, but I did not have the right order. Or if the system is not properly designed, who is calling who first may not even be deterministic.
  • dead locks. For examples, GenServer A call GenServer B, and B also calls A back.
  • time outs. in pathological cases, one GenServer could have a large backlog of messages. Calls could timeout.
2 Likes

As @derek-zhou points out, message-ordering isn’t generally much of a problem. However, the code you described sounds like it has a different issue that’s more common: using one process when you really want a supervision tree.

Instead of a single “proxy” that tracks all the connections made through it, a “BEAMier” approach would make the initial connect spawn a new process focused solely on that connection.