What is the Elixir/OTP way for long queues that in JVM world would live on RabbitMQ or Kafka?

Hi All

I am still learning Elixir in semi-hobby mode, so sorry if the question is stupid. Imagine an API that processes survey responses, possibly in computationally expensive way (maybe fashionable AI is being trained from them or something like this). When survey gets published to some popular facebook group or twitter nearly simultaneous submissions can easily overload a small server.

I come from JVM world and one of the usual ways there for surviving against connection overload is whenever possible to accept a request, put it to the queuing service such as RabbitMQ and then slowly (e.g. in 1-3 threads) pull them to process. Or if we are in a less serious service, then maybe a homemade queue in just the heap memory and/or persisted to database.

My understanding is that Elixir/OTP are so great regarding number of connections, that it is not really a concern. However, processing tons of feedback still needs CPU, RAM (especially is machine learning is involved), saving to database, etc.

What is the Elixir way for handling such situations?

• Do we just post messages from every API call and some genserver slowly processes then one by one?
  • Do you use database persistence in such situation somehow (it wouldn’t be nice to drop queued survey results if service dies)? With some standard libraries?

P.S.
I realize that you can perfectly use RabbitMQ or Kafka from Elixir as well. Still certainly if I can have just one elixir box to do it for a small business SaaS, then it would be great not to add more nodes to the system.

1 Like

I have the following book in my backlog, and a general idea of how things can be done in Elixir:

I would tackle it by using GenStage. It has concept of Producer and Consumers, which helps with consumption of data in batched fashion. If the machine learning Consumer gets overwhelmed, it can ask for less work from Producer… (i.e. Backpressure)