What would you say to those thinking about coming to Elixir?

Following @joshd’s thread, I wonder if we can put together some sort of welcoming and informative thread for those thinking about coming over to Elixir :003:

Maybe include what you like, what you think they might like, which books/resources/threads/sites you have found helpful, your recommendations on getting started and any other info you think might be helpful :023:

Who knows, perhaps José and the team might want to use snippets from this thread on a welcome post or page on the official site…

3 Likes

I’d say I posted something on the forum and within a few hours was on a call with someone for Toronto who spent an hour with me just giving advice / feedback. Not related to the language but… that’s community!

4 Likes

I’d say…

DO IT!!! :003:

I have learned such a huge amount since I started learning Elixir. Many times in other languages I’ve pondered that burning question that ‘surely there’s a better way’ and so many times that has been answered in Elixir - because Elixir not only makes modern best practices possible, but unbelievably easy. Here are a few of my faves:

• The Single Responsibility Principle
  • The Replaceable Component Architecture
  • Being able to use Phoenix in multiple layers of your app
  • And more

That’s not even covering the benefits of the language itself:

• Functional
  • Concurrent
  • Parallel
  • Fault tolerant
  • Massively scalable
  • Fast
  • Great community
  • Great package manager - HEX
  • Great packages
  • And much much more…

If (like I was) you’ve been using a language, which, despite having a lot of love for it, you feel somewhere deep in your heart (or at the back of your mind) that just isn’t able to handle the kind of apps and to the scale you want, then look no further.

Elixir is as ambitious and capable as you are :purple_heart: