What's the difference between Phoenix and LiveView?

Could someone please explain the difference between phoenix and liveview? Is liveview necessary for ANY dynamic content?

Without liveview, could i build a counter with increment and decrement functions that updates its state dynamically on the front end?

Im just beginning to learn phoenix, and was just curious how far phoenix could take me without liveview; for no real reason. Thanks in advance!

1 Like

You can build a counter on a web page with simple javascript that never contacts the server, so you don’t need LiveView. Save the following html/javascript in a file and load it in your browser:

<html lang="en">
<head>
    <meta charset="UTF-8">
    <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0">
    <title>Counter</title>
</head>

<body>
    <div id="counter">0</div>
    <button id="incr">Increment</button>
    <button id="decr">Decrement</button>

<script>
        "use strict"

function incr(event) {
            let div = document.querySelector("#counter") 
            let current_val = Number(div.innerHTML)
            div.innerHTML = current_val + 1
        }
        function decr(event) {
            let div = document.querySelector("#counter") 
            let current_val = Number(div.innerHTML)
            div.innerHTML =  current_val - 1
        }

document.querySelector("#incr").addEventListener("click", incr)
        document.querySelector("#decr").addEventListener("click", decr)

</script>
</body>
</html>

And, with a little more work, you can write javascript that contacts the server, then updates the web page with data returned by the server.

What LiveView does is it lets you execute a lot of very complex javascript, where the web page is instantaneously updating the server with its state, and the server is instantaneously updating the contents of the web page-without knowing or writing any javascript.