What's the standard for validating json bodies for an api?

I’m still new to phoenix, prolly somewhere around 2 weeks old. I’m trying to build a json api and I’m having difficulty finding the best practice for validation. For example if my json api expects a body like

{ 
  name: "hello",
  email: "test@gmail.com"
}

And my client only sends

{
  name: "test"
}

My appliation immediately throws a 500. What’s the current best practice for resolving this?

2 Likes

Can you please provide an example action where this happens?

I assume, you are haveing a line like {:ok, data} = JSON.decode(body_data) where it isn’t able to match due to the incomplete data. Thats where you need to use a case expression where you branch depending on the result of the call to JSON.decode/1 (which in reality can have any other name and arity, depends on the tools you use, which you didn’t even told us which that were).

1 Like

Ecto changesets are pretty much the standard. If you’re not saving the JSON to a DB, you can use “schemaless” changesets:

https://hexdocs.pm/ecto/Ecto.Changeset.html#module-schemaless-changesets

Your example for instance would work with validate_required.

1 Like

You can try a Elixir JSON Schema validator. I used such in Ruby, Go and Java, but not in Elixir so far and I cannot guarantee its quality.

Or, if you only need to guarantee a top-level set of keys, you can just get Map.keys from the info that is sent to your API and compare it to your pre-determined set of mandatory map keys.

1 Like

I’ve actually been able to resolve my issues. It was an error on my end. But thanks for the insights!

can you explain how we can use changeset to validate a payload conditionally?

like in Node, with JOI you can do something like

const schema = {
    a: Joi.any()
        .valid('x')
        .when('b', { is: Joi.exist(), then: Joi.valid('y'), otherwise: Joi.valid('z') })
        .when('c', { is: Joi.number().min(10), then: Joi.forbidden() }),
    b: Joi.any(),