When starting a project from scratch, do you build back-end or front-end first?

I’ve been a developer for 3 years. I have joined big companies with a legacy codebase and have never built something from the ground up (with the exception of toy projects on my own time).

I want to build an open source web app that scales. Where would a lead engineer start in thinking about this – start building the back-end first?

1 Like

I like to start with the front end because I can focus on the user experience and then I implement the backend to what I need to achieve the UX I want.

I don’t think there’s an absolute “right” way here—it’s really about your comfort.

3 Likes

@tio407 Personally I think that’s like asking if should someone start from writing tests at start. It’s not like that only TDD is good way and same goes to your question. You can even think about front-end like a real tests for back-end and it would work similarly to TDD.

If there is more than one good way then it of course depends and you need to think why it depends i.e. what are the cons and pros. The only one who knows it (at least first) is you. Even if you can see exactly one good way then maybe think if you did not missed any other. Computers at end understand only 0 and 1, but it’s not working same for developer. You need to ask questions … lots of questions …