Where to handle switch on user-agent with Phoenix

I’m new to Phoenix and web development, so if I missed something in the docs, please point me there and I’ll study.

I’m helping someone with a Phoenix project where they’d like to differentiate between a web browser loading a page and curl/wget loading it. The idea is that when loaded by a browser, the user gets HTML/etc. with possibly some options for interacting more with the site. When loaded by curl or wget, the user would get text with ANSI escape codes so that it would look nice when dumped to a terminal window.

It seems like we want to check the user-agent string. Is it a best practice to put that check in the view, controller, or router? At first this seemed like a view concern, but it seems really convenient to put it in the router. Like maybe in an :accepts-like plug, but checking the user-agent. Plus I could cut out pipeline steps for web browsers that aren’t needed for curl/wget commandline clients.

Thanks for any pointers.

1 Like

What you’re describing suggests that Accept header would be a better strategy. Browser detection is very brittle.

A browser will accept text/html. For command line usage, specify text/x-my-special-format or even just text/plain

5 Likes

Content Negotiation

Have a look at Content Negotiation & Phoenix.

So to get text with curl you have to specify an accept header, e.g.:

curl -H "Accept: text/plain" http://localhost:4000/bikes

A browser will typically send an accept header like:

Accept: text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,image/webp,image/apng,*/*;q=0.8,application/signed-exchange;v=b3

i.e. expressing a preference for text/html

Phoenix.Controller.accepts/2

2 Likes

For Phoenix you would:

1. Allow the alternative format (assuming you send Accept: text/plain)
pipeline :browser do
  plug accepts, ["html", "text"]
end
  1. Render in a format insensitive way in your controller
render(conn, :index, assigns)