Where to put configuration-based setup code?

Hi, I’m pretty new to working with Elixir so please forgive me if this is should have been obvious.

I have an application that manages group permissions by assigning permissions/bundled groups of permissions via a database of relationships. Figuring that many groups would want similar org structures, I implemented a way to copy another organization’s permission’s structure (basically the mapping of roles to permissions). It occurred to me that this would be an easy mechanism to offer preset organization structures, by just having some prototype organizations in the database.

Now, I’m trying to figure out where to put the initialization code for inserting these prototypes into the database. My first thought was to put it directly in a migration, but I would like for these presets to be definable as a configuration option that I could change in the future, and a given migration runs exactly once. So then I figured I could handle the change-detection myself, but that leaves the question of where to put this code. Should I create a process that listens for configuration changes and does the necessary database updates, or is there a better way, maybe by putting some code in the configuration file itself?

Hi NamesAreAPain!

You are right: Seeding initial data usually doesn’t belong into migrations. I yet don’t get the exact scenario and parameters of your project, so my anwsers really boil down to the very default options. Based on the scenario, that you or some other technologically educated person will be in charge for setting up the application on their machine.

Basically what be to your interest is the term “seeding data”. You can find a pretty much interesting section on that here https://hexdocs.pm/phoenix/1.3.0-rc.1/seeding_data.html