Which OS/Distro do you use in production?

…and are there any specific reasons for your choice?

1 Like

For my own servers I run Debian, it has a massive ecosystem and is very well documented.

At work it is a mixture of Windows Server 2008 and RedHat 7(.5?). The Windows is because some of the stupid government crap requires it and RedHat because they like wasting money (that OS has caused us so many issues that just do not exist in Debian).

Personally I would rather use Illumos (one of its derivatives to be specific) as it has some of the best code, best uptime, cleanest updating, and Zones are just fantastic, like really, Illumos Zones there is just no match for, they are just fantastic. ^.^

4 Likes

I’ve been using CentOS in our servers for about 10 years - and it has always been rock solid, reliable and secure. The only downside (and I guess the same with Debian) is that packages are somewhat out of date. Even the kernel is 3.10 on the latest 7.3 version. (Though of course that’s precisely why they are more reliable/secure :lol:).

So… I was thinking about moving to Ubuntu. Discourse pretty much needs it as it does not work nicely with devicemapper and needs something like Aufs or OverlayFS (neither are good options on CentOS - at least not without upgrading the kernel to a non-supported version).

I’m worried about using Ubuntu tho - I know people who tried it in the past but regretted it, though that was a good few years ago.

With regards to Erlang/Elixir - are they supported equally on CentOS, Debian and Ubuntu? Or are versions outdated on the former two?

That is never something I’d say about using years-old kernels!!! o.O

I use an Ubuntu server on one of my setups, it’s like debian, since it basically is debian but with more package repo’s by default. ^.^;

They work perfectly fine on them all. :slight_smile: