Why do many functions use keyword lists as params?

Hi. I’m new to elixir and I’ve noticed that functions often take in a keyword list as a last parameter to pass in an arbitrary number of params.

I think I understand the concept but I’m curious as to why people don’t use maps instead if the lookup is faster than it is for linked lists. I think…

I’m guessing that since generally we are talking about a small number of params it doesn’t matter much but I’m curious what’s the reasoning behind this choice.

Thanks!

1 Like

Welcome. Yes, the number of params are usually small. More importantly,

assign(socket, var1: val1, var2: val2)

Looks nicer than:

assign(socket, %{var1: val1, var2: val2})

It feels like named arguments from Smalltalk or ObjectiveC.

The simpler syntax only works when the keyword list is the last argument of the function call.

3 Likes

Keywords also allow for duplicate keys.

For example, Elixir’s import syntax:

import Foo, only: [bar: 2, bar: 3]

Another example is Ecto’s keyword syntax:

from q in query,
  where: q.id == ^id,
  where: q.active == true

Welcome to the forums!

10 Likes

If a function has many arguments it’s easier to use if you put most (or even all) of them in a keyword list. That allows you to:

• Only supply the arguments you want to pass and leave the others to their defaults;
  • Not get confused about argument order as you pass the arguments by name and don’t rely on their position in the argument list.
6 Likes

Thanks. Clear! :pray:

1 Like

The reasons given so far basically mean that keyword args make a nice ergonomic API. As you note though, maps are actually easier to work with, especially when pattern matching, so a very common pattern in libraries is to accept a list in the public function, but the immediately convert it to a map and then pass that around internally.

3 Likes