Why do we need name of the App everywhere in Phoenix?

I’m not an Elixir or Phoenix professional in any way. I’m just a noob, a starter, but I want everything a bit simpler.
I was reading Programming Phoenix, and these thoughts came to my mind.

1. Why do we have defmodule RumblWeb.UserView do and not just defmodule UserView do? Why do we have this AppName prepended everywhere?
    Isn’t it better not to have the AppName prepended?
  2. Why do we have Rumbl.Repo? Why don’t we have simply Ecto.Repo?

I think Rails have this kind of conventions because there it’s OO and in OOP you have that object (for example called Rumbl) and you have everything attached to that object, but here we don’t have objects, so why prepend this thing to everything and have extra burden on brain.

I’ll say once again that I’m a noob and I might be wrong, but again I think it will be easier for Noobs to adopt something if it’s simpler, and we should leave Conventions (and copying Rails) aside if it can make it simpler.

There is no obligation to name this like that, You are free to use simply UserView if that is what You prefer. It is just a convention.

It does not even reflect folder structure. It’s just a convention, making it easier for us to think about some kind of namespace hierarchy.

3 Likes

The answer is quite trivial: to avoid module name conflicts with the standard library, other libraries and some other code you might import into your project.
Aliasing makes this much less annoying than it initially seems.

9 Likes

What do you comment on the complications caused by Repo?
In some places you have to deal with AppName.Repo and in other places you have to deal with Ecto.Repo. For a noob like me, it’s really hard to get my head around where should I deal with which of these two.

As @michalmuskala said, aliasing allows You to use only Repo.

1 Like

Is it possible to make it so it have only Ecto.Repo everywhere instead of AppName.Repo. That will make it simpler.